The Lost Art of MODESTY

Maybe because it’s the summertime, or the fact that I live by the beach, or that I’m a mom and a wife (and, ahem…getting older..cough cough)..but I have become extremely frustrated with something.

How women dress.

More than once this week, my jaw dropped to the floor in utter shock and astonishment..hardly believing my eyes…I don’t need to go into detail on the lack of clothes that I saw on these women. I don’t know how people can NOT look. It’s all out there for anyone to look.

It’s so disappointing to me and made me sad. Sad for the women flaunting their bodies in such a way, but also sad for the men who twisted their necks while they drove by so they could take it all in. Who can blame them when a woman walks by half naked?

I think the female body is absolutely beautiful, and should be enjoyed after the commitment of marriage.

What breaks my heart the most is that these women who flaunt it all are most likely insecure and looking for attention from men. Are these the types of men we really want to be attracting anyway?

I know this is an old concept, but it needs to be addressed. I am embaressed for our gender.

We have lost the art of dressing modestly.

This isn’t for everyone. As a Christian women, I am held to a different standard.

I Peter 3 Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self,the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to adorn themselves.

What happened to working on our inner self.

What do you spend more time doing?

I am frustrated and challenged by this.

What are your thoughts?

Thanks for letting me rant.

JH

2 thoughts on “The Lost Art of MODESTY

  1. Tracy Page says:

    Jeniece. I love this. With my son being 16, I see everything through his eyes. Boys don’t stand a chance with the way women dress. Even women at church. I literally die if a woman’s top is so low cut that my son doesn’t know where to look. I am sooooo saddened by this. Thanks for posting. I miss seeing your smilingn face, but am happy tthrough up through fb and instagram. Your daughter is adorable and she is blessed to have you as her mom. xoxo

What do you have to say about it?

