I don’t feel like it


Blog 2

Blog

(Pictured: top -A preview of my daily photo shoot with Reese. bottom-Reese watching the train at South Coast Plaza. She could have stayed right there all day)

A handful of life-changing, amazingly powerful events stem from this very notion: doing what you don’t feel like doing ANYWAY. 

I don’t feel like it. I don’t want to. Not in the mood.

Am I the only one who who finds myself muttering one or two of these phrases throughout the day (or at least thinking them 🙂 ?!

Sometimes I don’t want to change Reese’s diaper. Simply because I just did, and I don’t feel like getting everything out again.

I don’t feel like dealing with the pursuit of new friendships, because it takes work.

Sometimes I feel like telling a white lie, it’s easier. I don’t feel like explaining the whole truth.

Talking about the Lord is often exhausting. I don’t always feel like talking about Him. I have other things to do.

There are often times I don’t want to call a friend back.

It’s easier to listen to lies that I’m not good enough. That I have to compete to find my identity.

I don’t want to leave our loved church and go to a church in our new community.

I often feel like pouting, proceeding to throw my self a fabulous pity-party instead of checking my heart, admitting bitterness or fault, and moving on in freedom.

While I believe in taking a sabbath, resting from some of these things is crucial..most of my listed items are a must on a day to day basis. Essential to living a life that is full. A life overflowing with gratitude, accepting challenges, loving God, and loving others.

The truth is…

No matter if I feel like it or not, it has often been the moments where I have no words prepared that God opens a door for me to share the gospel with a friend or stranger. Calling that friend back has lead to much needed, healing conversations. Relocating to a new community opens the door for new opportunity, new friendships, and the beginning of a needed fresh start with our family. It’s an absolute joy that I have the opportunity to raise my sweet little daughter. Diaper-changing and all. Opening the bible, memorizing verses that speak truth about my true identity. Verses like 1 Peter 2:9.

“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.Keep fighting. Pursue Integrity. Encourage that friend. Tell your spouse you love them, but show them too. Have the hard conversations. Keep going. It seems to be the hard days that change us, not the easy ones.”

As I am not perfect, not even close. Join me as I say “yes,” even if I don’t feel like it. If you were next to me, I would give you a high five and a “you can doooo it.”

Go in Him.

Jeniece

One thought on “I don’t feel like it

What do you have to say about it?

