Laundry Lady

There was one particular run around the block that I will never forget.

I was in high school, a relentless, fearless junior. I took life by the horns. Not much to worry about.

I made moves, played hard, worked hard, and dreamed even bigger.

The world was my oyster.

I ran the block almost every night before dinner. A few times around. It was my time to think. Process the day, sweat, solve our nation’s debt crisis, etc.

I mostly wore my volleyball spandex while I ran. I will  personally apologize to any and everyone who saw me during this time. Those things were a 1/2 inch away from underwear. I see girls wearing them around town today and I cringe! Holy heavens! You forgot your pants, seriously, you did! It’s horrible.

This certain run..it was dark out and I ran past a lady in the garage doing laundry. There was nothing life-changing about this sight, besides what I said to myself.

I want to be more than that.

I want to live overseas, be the president of my company, climb the tallest mountains, longboard peaceful waves, chase adventure, love deeply, take risks.

I passed her once more and thought how I would be nothing like her. I would laugh in the face of normalcy and redefine what it meant to be a woman.

Right.

While chasing adventure and traveling the world are wonderful things. Things I still do…

I’m that lady. I do my laundry with my garage open while high schoolers run by in their spandex.

26 years old. Most days are somewhat predictable and even”ordinary.”

Wake up with a few minutes to snuggle my husband who loves me wholly. Put the coffee on. Sing to my baby girl as she wakes to shows me her toothy grin. I sweep her up and feed her waffles.

This is my beautiful adventure.

Teaching my little girl how much Jesus loves her. Dating the love of my life. Holding brand new babies of dear friends and sisters. Staying up late on the phone with my best friend. Painting. Dreaming. Sitting on the beach with my family. Making new friends. Baking. Laughing. Crying. Trials. Singing. Gardening.

The sun is falling, it’s time to start dinner. I twist metal through the cork and pour 2 glasses of Cabernet.

I finish my last load of laundry for the day. How can there possibly be more tomorrow?

There will be. I will fold the tops of baby socks into one another…stack my husbands shirts high.

It’s my life. Nothing out of this world. Pretty ordinary, but unmistakably full.

Never did I think I would be her. The lady in the garage who folded her family’s laundry.

Little did I know that I would enjoy every little fold. That I would be thankful for the family that wears the clothes I put away.

That I wouldn’t change a thing, even if I could.

JH

IMG_2574

IMG_2571

IMG_2602

One thought on “Laundry Lady

  1. rebeccaforrest says:

    Reblogged this on Making Life Beautiful and commented:
    This is a blog post from one of my sweet cousins who is a little further in life than I- with a house and a baby- and she blogs about her beautiful life and journey with God. She has an inspiring blog and today’s was especially encouraging to me! My big dreams may not come true but God has a plan for my life and in His will I can and will be full. God is good! Check out The Morning Mug here! It’s defiantly worth the read!

What do you have to say about it?

