Know Your Passion

Sometimes I get stressed while brainstorming what I should blog about. I wait until I have a cutting edge idea that will leave you readers enlightened, at the very least. 

Then I remember, I just have to be me. I don’t have to be this blogger or that blogger. No, I just get to be me. 

S-t-r-e-s-s reliever, indeed. I don’t have to be anyone else. The people that inspire me most are the ones who are doing what they love and are passionate about. Some of them are volunteering at animal hospitals..others are running marathons. I have a friend who is starting up a non-profit and another friend who just quit a non-profit. Be familiar with your passions. 

Last week, I had a conversation with a mother and her daughter. After we got past 2 minutes of initial get-to-know you questions, I asked the mother (let’s call her June) a very telling question. 

What makes you tick, what are your passions? What do you do in your free time? 

(Yes, I spouted off 3 questions in one..I kind of have a problem) note: this is my go-to question set..instead of, “what do you do?” (boring!) 

She stared at me blankly for about 15 seconds as if I was speaking a different language. She shifted her eyes to her daughter, in hopes of her little minion answering on her behalf. Her daughter began to say…”she plays tennis..sometimes..” 

I moved on in conversation, but this interaction struck me. 

It doesn’t matter what I’m passionate about, as long as I am passionate. Life is full of dull activities to fill our time..we come up dry and leave emptier than we were…day in and day out. 

I know we have to work and we must do things we aren’t passionate about…but that can’t be IT. Absolutely not. In order to be the best me, I have to work my passions into my day somehow. Even if it’s a 20 minute fill up. After I do something I am passionate about, my soul smiles. 

My passions. 

1. Spending time with my family outside of the house. Going on adventures, swimming in the ocean, going out to breakfast. 

2. Being creative. Writing, drawing, singing, crafting. 

3. One on one time with friends. 

4. Exercising and eating clean. 

5. Thrift shopping/fashion/interior decorating. 

6. Traveling. Being in any sort of new place. 

7. Working out. Running, turbo-kick boxing, pilates, walking. 

8. Reading. Blogs, the bible, books. 

9. Learning about God. Worshiping, reading, spending time with the Lord. 

I’m sure these will change a bit as I grow and live. These are them. 9 things that fill me up. 

What are yours? 

JH

 

 

 

This got me thinking. Why aren’t we more ourselves. 

4 thoughts on “Know Your Passion

  1. Joe Chavez says:

    Amen. Amen. And Amen. Did I mention “Amen?”

    This has been and is my struggle for at least the last several years. I think at 43 I’m finally figuring it out. God has been showing me, little by little, since 2009 what my passions are. Like you, #2 is huge for me. I can not longer do the work that I’ve been doing professionally for the past several years. It’s dull. It’s boring. And it’s slowly killing my spirit.

    You got a glimpse into it on Sunday. 😉 By the way, I had a blast with your family on Sunday. You are all very kind, hilarious, and I’m blessed to know you all. The footage came out great!

    God is not bound by my time-table and I admit, it’s frustrating. I think we are all dealing with some painful times in at least our country that makes it all the more poignant. Still, we need to be faithful in using our gifts, talents and abilities that He has given us for His purposes and His glory.

    Terrific post. Seems like God has things to say to me today because this is the second thing I’ve read today that really touched my heart.

    Thanks Jenice!

    • themorningmug says:

      This is so great to hear. Chasing dreams and using our God-given abilities is so fulfilling, but hard to do! It’s hard when we have our own timing in mind!!!

      Thanks for your hard work in the taping! Excited to see how it turned out!

What do you have to say about it?

