Reflecting on what is

1000w

Good morning to giving thanks.

The corners of my mouth turn upwards as I imagine buttery stuffing and warm, flaky rolls with homemade strawberry jam.

A time to slow, to stop. Gain fresh perspective and open my eyes wider. To see past the obvious.

Sometimes the world points out what is not.

My car is not nearly as fancy or as fun as some of my friends.
My body is not even close to what it was when I was 19.
My days are not filled with traveling, or camping on the side of a mountains.

What is. To focus on what is.

My home is warm early from the morning sun piercing past our rickety front-window curtains.
My friends get babysitters for their children so they can show up to support.
There is food, lots of it; healthy and fresh.

My life. It’s so easy to look left and right..drooling over someone who is MORE creative than me or in better shape, etc.

Don’t miss it. Don’t miss what is right in front of you. This is what you have right now, and it’s more than enough.

It’s our job to rejoice in what we have and who we are.

Reflect on your beautiful body, the one right now. Think about your life and the gifts God has given YOU.
You are just as special. He is good, always.
I desire to stop looking left and right, longing for things I don’t have, but to look around and see what I do have. What is.

Psalm 64:9-10
All mankind will fear; they will proclaim the works of God and ponder what he has done. Let the righteous rejoice in the LORD and take refuge in him; let all the upright in heart praise him!
hankful. Enjoy today.

Jeniece Harris

// Image from Kinfolk Magazine

One thought on “Reflecting on what is

What do you have to say about it?

