The Abundant Life

e64fbc207e0dcce912742b48d4dbd653

I light my candle this morning and remember Matthew 5:14-16. Let your light shine.

Jesus came so I (we) may have life abundantly.

“What do you think will bring the abundant life?” Our young pastor asked this question as my eyes closed to ponder.

Reese to fall in love with the Lord. That my family is healthy..for them to thrive. For us to love people unconditionally.

We read in Luke 11:11 β€œWhich of you fathers, if your son asks for a fish, will give him a snake instead? 12 Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? 13 If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

The Holy Spirit has been given us to live abundantly. Even the pastor mentioned he felt an initial let down.

I sat in my seat at church and had a million questions. How? Why? What? being a few.

Acts 2 tells me the Holy Spirit is in ME because I repented and accepted Christ as my savior. I have felt “it” in incredibly radical ways throughout my Christian life. What about the day-to-day?

Ask for it, like it says in Luke. Close your eyes and ask for it. The bible tells us to ask.

I admit, I have been “turned off” by the mention of the Holy Spirit in the past. As a pastor’s kid, I have seen and heard a lot of opinions and beliefs on this sensitive issue (that’s another blog.) Something tells me that some of you may be weirded out as well (you are in good company!).

One thing I do know, God is good. He is always good. He knows how to give good gifts, and the Holy Spirit is a gift to us..that’s what I want. Our pastor put it this way, we must be aware of the presence and reliant on the power of the Holy Spirit.

I humbly ask this morning, give me you, Jesus. Give me your Holy Spirit.

I learned last night that one of my dear friends from growing up was murdered in her home on Monday. It’s times like these when I feel reliant on the Lord. Nothing makes sense without Him, not even the good things.

Make this Thursday count and thanks for letting me be real here, I am so honored.

John 15:5 β€œI am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

Jeniece

// All verses are NIV
/// Image from Pinterest

One thought on “The Abundant Life

What do you have to say about it?

